Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
TALI BEADS
1 février 2008

Bat Mitzva Celebration

My oldest daughter, Hadas, turned 12. In our Jewish culture, this is not just a regular birthday. It is called the "Bat Mitzva". It is a type of a rite of passage, signifying that the girl passes from childhood and enters into adulthood. Well, adulthood will have to will wait some longer before my daughter gets there, but puberty sure is just peeking from around the corner.

Anyway, we had a beautiful party yesterday evening. We invited all our relatives and family friends. Unfortunately, the couple of days before the party were the coldest yet this winter, with rainstorms and even snow in the high places, so quite a few people called to cancel.

Those who did come had a great time. The venue was lovely, the food was excellent. We showed a video we have had made from all of the old clips we took of her since babyhood, we held a short ceremony, where the Bat Mitzva girl received 12 symbolic gifts from significant people in her life and I sang a beautiful song, called "You make me a Mother" by Judith Ravitz, one of my favorite Israeli singers.

And I wore jewellery I made of course. We brought our own camera and asked one of the guests to take pictures. However, I forgot to switch the mode from Macro to regular (I photographed my jewellery earlier...) so most of the party pictures came out fuzzy. We also had someone videotape the ceremony, so hopefully that came out OK.

Here is the Necklace I wore. The central motif is Mimi's Palmyre with some beaded beads after GPU.

palmyre_sautoir

Focus on the Palmyre

palmyre

and the bracelet

bangle

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
F
Beautiful, I adore his colour!:)
TALI BEADS
Publicité
Newsletter
Publicité